Author Topic: BEST way to patch floorboards?  (Read 1189 times)

DirtyWhite77

• Active Forum Member
BEST way to patch floorboards?
« on: April 13, 2022, 11:20:29 PM »
The lowest sections of all 4 floorboards in my 1977 TA are rotted out. Only the 12”x12 area you rest your feet. The tunnel, seat mounting areas, rockers and firewall are all really solid so I don’t want or need to do a whole floor. It’s pretty much the areas right around all the body plugs. I’m a welder by trade although not anything to do with autobody. I have the equipment to attach the new panels in any conceivable way. I just can’t decide on the best way to go about doing it. I see two ways really. I have new panels for the front and I’ll buy some for the rear when the time comes so the patches will perfectly match what’s still there.

1.    Butt weld it all the way around with easy grind wire as to not create to much heat when grinding. Paint both sides. All welding done from the top side of the car.

2. Cut the the new panel 1-1.5” oversized and drill the edges every 3/4-1” for spot welds. Then weld 1-2” on both sides of all 4 corners. All welding done from the top side of the car. Weld through primer on the floor and bottom of the new panel before assembly. Paint and then caulk neatly smeared around the edges of the patch from the top.

If anyone has any other method or idea I’d love to hear them. I see advantages to both. I’m looking for the strongest long lasting approach. Time or work involved doesn’t sway me much. I know once carpet is down it will be invisible and keeping water out is how to keep them from rusting. I don’t plan on selling my car anytime I just want the repair to be done right not rednecked in.

roadking77

• Oracle Forum Member
Re: BEST way to patch floorboards?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2022, 08:05:02 AM »
If youre a welder by trade I would seek to ask you for advice  :shock: LOL